Genesis 45

Joseph’s Identity Revealed 
Joseph could not refrain himself in front of all them that stood by him, and he cried out.

Joseph: Everyone, go out from me.

There stood no man with him while Joseph made himself known to his brethren.

Joseph wept aloud, and the Egyptians and the housep of Pharaoh heard.

Joseph (to his brothers): I am Joseph; does my father still live?

His brothers could not answer him, because they were troubled at his presence.

Joseph: Come near me.

And they came near.

Joseph: I am Joseph your brother, whom you sold into Egypt. Don’t be grieved or angry with yourselves, that you sold me here: for God sent me before you to preserve life. For these two years the famine has been in the land: and there are yet more five years, in which there shall neither be earing nor harvest. God sent me before you to preserve you a posterity in the earth, and to save your lives by a great deliverance. So now it was not you that sent me here, but God: and he has made me a father to Pharaoh and lord of all his house and a ruler throughout all the land of Egypt. Go quickly up to my father, and say to him, Your son Joseph says, God has made me lord of all Egypt: come down to me and do not delay. You will dwell in the land of Goshen, and you will be near me, you, and your children, and your children’s children, and your flocks, and your herds, and all that you have. And I will I nourish you there, for there are five more years of famine; lest you and your household, and all that you have come to poverty. Your eyes see, and the eyes of my brother Benjamin, that it is my mouth that speaks to you. You shall tell my father of all my glory in Egypt, and of all that you have seen; and you shall make haste and bring my father down here.

 
Then Joseph embraced his brother Benjamin around his neck and wept, and Benjamin wept on his neck. Joseph kissed all his brothers and wept on them. After that his brothers talked with him.  

The fame of it was heard in Pharaoh’s house, saying, Joseph’s brothers are come. And it pleased Pharaoh and his servants.

Pharaoh (to Joseph): Say to your brothers, Do this; load your animals and go to the land of Canaan. Take your father and your households and come to me, and I will give you the good of the land of Egypt, and you shall eat the fat of the land. You are commanded to do this. Take wagons out of the land of Egypt for your little ones and for your wives, and bring your father and come. Don’t consider your belongings, because all that is good in all the land of Egypt is yours.

The children of Israel did as Pharaoh commanded. Joseph gave them wagons, according to the commandment of Pharaoh, and gave them provision for the way. He gave each man changes of clothes, but to Benjamin he gave three hundred pieces of silver and five changes of clothes.

He sent to his father: ten donkeys laden with the good things of Egypt and ten female donkeys loaded with corn and bread and meat for his journey.

So Joseph sent his brothers away.

Joseph (to his brother): Do not quarrel on your journey.

The brothers went up out of Egypt and came into the land of Canaan.

The brothers (to Jacob their father): Joseph is still alive, and he is governor over all the land of Egypt.

Jacob’s heart fainted, because he did not believe them.

The brothers told Jacob all that Joseph had said. And when Jacob saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, his spirit revived.

Israel (Jacob): It is enough. Joseph my son is still alive. I will go and see him before I die.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

